Friday, March 5, 2010

Dias Extranos.


On top of a mountain looking at Segorbe, Spain

city bus attempt #1 The past two days have been so bizarre and random. I love when you don't plan things, but somehow your day becomes a silly adventure! Yesterday, I went to class and on my way back to el colegio I passed Tay! She asked me if I wanted to go to this market in the streets down by the beach that her professor told her about -- por supuesto, yo dije sí! Naturally we had absolutely no idea how to get there, so we started at the bus stop in Plaza Reina. We asked this old man which bus to take and he sent us to Plaza Ayumiento. Of course there are about 10 bus stops in that plaza so we asked more people where to go. Finally, we were directed to the bus stop where we could catch bus 32. We paid our 1,25 and were on our way (no clue if we would actually get there considering we weren't sure if we even had the right name of the market/street). After about 10 minutes on the bus we realized that we had no idea where we were supposed to get off so we asked the bus driver -- somehow the stop we were at was the right one! So, we got out and wandered around the market. Sounds cool, but it honestly was such a crappy market. It kind of looked like an ourdoor Goodwill (not the cool stuff at goodwill -- yes I shop there -- the gross stuff). We expected to see a lot of jewelry, art, rosaries, you know...but it was more like bras, underwear, ugly clothing, shoes, purses, belts. It was cool to see because it was pretty big, but we were quickly over it. Tay had to get to her next class, but I was done for the day so I just "headed home." Well, Tay took a cab to school because she had no idea what bus to take, so I just decided to get back on bus 32 because it had to go back where it came from. NOT THE CASE...tehe. Let's just say that I had a pretty darn long tour of the city. I immediately noticed that we were going the opposite direction than home, but I figured they would quickly turn around. Ohhhh noo...I saw the entire city before I got home. I saw an entire couple of "barrios" (neighborhoods) that I have never seen before, went by the beach (where my bus driver decided to get out and walk around for a few minutes??), and spent about 45 minutes on the bus at this point and wasn't even CLOSE to home. Eventually this sweet old Spanish women sat next to me on the bus and I asked, "conoces si este autobús va a la plaza del ayumiento finalmente?" (Do you know if this bus gets to the plaza ayumiento eventually?) and she kindly answer, "Más o menos, salías cuando tú estás cerca de la mezcla porque el autobús no va a la plaza del ayumiento nunca más ya durante fallas." (More or less, get off when you are close to the Mezcla because this bus doesn't go to the plaza during Fallas anymore.) Great. I had no idea what the Mezcla was and had her explain it to me. What was really strange is that she thought I was from France? Haha, but I was SOO thankful for this little old lady. After she got off the bus, I realized that the entire bus was full of people above the age of 60...no idea why. I must've been in old fart valencia at the time. Anyways, about an hour and fifteen minutes after I left the market, I reached the Mezcla which was actually right next to the plaza I needed to be in. It actually turned out to be such a fun adventure. I had fun seeing parts of the city that I had never seen and wondering where in the world I would end up! And I got to talk to a really NICE spaniard for once and practice my Spanish. After that, I came home, did P90X, ate lunch, sat on the roof, did homework and chilled for the rest of the evening...


Next Stop, Segorbe aka Middle of Nowhere


Orange Trees...We only took this pic because it looked like a mini version of the "whomping willow" from Harry Potter..hahahah


Ryan contemplating jumping in this fountain..Suz and I are great persuaders


Success.


I'm always eating...why.


segorbe last night, a group of us decided that we wanted to go HIKING! Sounds awesome, right? Well, Ryan found the spot to go, talked to a guy who worked at the national park, and figured out what bus we had to take to get there. Me and Suz woke up this morning around 8:00am, put on our hiking gear, had breakfast, dealt with the hungover boys (Ryan and "grateful" dave), grabbed out picnic lunches, and headed off to the bus station. We had no idea where we were going, as usual, but got there with 5 minutes to spare! We paid our 5,20 bus fare and were on our way to good ol' segorbe, spain. It took us about an hour with the MANY stops in itty bitty spanish towns (sooo weird by the way...I don't know what people do in these towns, they seem to be EMPTY), but we eventually got to the great city of segorbe. It wasn't so great. We got off and asked these young girls to point us to the "parque nacional" and they didn't even have a clue what we were talking about. They called over an older lady and asked her and apparently, Spaniards aren't much for the outdoors. Not only do they not drink, go out more than once a week, workout, oh no...they also do not hike. We had no idea what to do so we just decided to walk towards the mountains in the distance and see if we would eventually get there. At one point we saw this random playground in the middle of the city that had a map on it and it showed us some trails! We followed the arrow and surprise surprise, we still were walking on concrete with no national park in site. We just decided to keep walking towards the mountain and make our own path. It was interesting....we passed by a lot of oranges trees, lemon trees, rabid dogs, goats, poop, farmland, a highway, no trespassing signs, etc. Of course we continued. FINALLY...we got to a point where we could climb up into the woods. We point to a rock on the top and decided to make that our destination. A couple of thorns in my knees and rocks up our butts later, we got to the top :) We looked out over the farms and sat down to eat our lunches. I ate two bocadillos, a pear, a nutella and jelly sandwich, peanuts and sunflower seeds -- I eat an unnecessary amount of food. Anyways, we decided to head back down because it was starting to rain. On the way back, Suz and I spotted a fountain and decided to convince ryan to get IN the freezing cold fountain and climb on top of it for a picture -- of course he did it, idiot. I was almost peeing in my pants I was laughing so hard. I am almost pretty positive Ryan wanted to kill us, but it was sooo worth the it. Hahaha! ...We found our way back to segorbe and had 15 minutes until the bus came for Valencia. The boys decided to get a beer and Suz and I got Cola-Cao (its the best hot chocolate on earth). We could see the bus stop from the bar and panicked because we saw the bus that we were supposed to catch back to Valencia -- the next after this didn't come for another TWO hours and considering we were in the middle of NO WHERE, that was the last thing we wanted to do. The awesome people that Suz and I are, chugged our Cola-Cao and sprinted towards the bus. The bus driver laughed at us and recognized us from this morning and held the bus until the boys made it. We loaded onto the bus and listened to the sweet american jams all the way back to Valencia. On our way back to el colegio, it started raining and Suz and I wanted to RUN to beat the boys, but we were stopped in plaza virgen by these fourteen year old spanish girls screaming "excuse, excuse, excuse!!!" Haha...I believe they were trying to say "excuse me"...tehe. They came up to us, asked if we spoke English and said that they were going to Ireland in a couple of weeks and was wondering if they could practice their spanish with us. We said yes and they asked us a bunch of silly questions. When they asked us where we were from and we said "the united states" they covered their mouths and said "que guay!!!" (how cool) and were like so excited, haha. Anyways, they asked us why we were here in their broken spanish and asked to get a picture with us. The next thing we know, a swarm of fourteen year olds were taking a picture with us...it was so funny. Suz and I were just happy because our Spanish was better than a fourteen year olds English -- I know, pathetic, but people always tell us that we are all equivalent to about a 12 year old...greaaaaat.


The past two days have been awesome, very random, but awesome. Everyone keeps complaining about how we are halfway through our program, but I personally think we still have sooo much time left. I have nothing to complain about -- I feel like I am taking advantage of every single day that I have here and don't intend on slowing down or missing out on these little adventures. You have NO idea where each day can take you here.......


live it up!


Us with the little Spanish kids

Monday, March 1, 2010

Barcelona.


absolutely wild. Barcelona was an absolute crazy adventure between people getting punched in the eye, insane chupitos, to people getting lost on broken down metros -- I'd like to say that I handled this weekend decently well. Barcelona is definitely one of my favorite places I have ever been to. I am for sure going back one day, but I want to go when it is ridiculously warm so I can go to the beach! Friday I decided to skip class because I was up all night due to nightmares caused by watching Shutter Island. (We illegally watch movies on our computers all the time, and for some dumb reason I watched Shutter Island and was totally freaked out that I could turn insane). Anyways, I skipped class and it felt SO GOOD to catch up on sleep, especially when I had no idea what the weekend had in store for me.

On our way to Barcelona

Mine and Suz's AWESOME Room

We got on the bus around 1:30 and headed to Barcelona. This time I actually got my bag OFF of the bus and didn't leave any belongings. I didn't even bring a purse because Barcelona is known for excessive pick-pocketing and mugging. I wasn't going to risk it so I kept a money purse in my shoe the entire time. After the 5 hour bus ride, we immediately went to our beautiful hotel. Suz and I had a huge room to ourselves and were in heaven compared to the "dog house" we stayed in when we were in Madrid. We loved the bathroom the most because it was huggggee and had a heated towel rack in it (not that we ever figured out how to use it). Once again our hotel was located in the most perfect area -- right in the middle of the city. Our entire group headed to a dinner at this restaurant called FresCo. IT WAS HEAVEN! It doesn't sound like much from the outside, I am sure, but we are SO tired of our food at the dorm. FresCo was kind of like a Jason's Deli -- it had a longggg salad bar with all kinds of toppings and pasta salads (no, still no ranch considering nothing like that exists here), pizza, pasta, my fav...artichokes with oil and garlic on them, frozen yogurt, café con leche, and fruit! We filled up on the delicious fresh food and headed back to our hotel.

Taylor and I

Listerine Shot -- Step One (I'm scared to death -- haha!)

Step Two -- FIRE.

Step Three -- Wait.

Eliza, Grace, Britt, Tay, and I at Chupitos!

Suz and I unpacked and got ready for our first night out in Barcelona!! A bunch of us went to Tay's room to pregame and then headed off to Espit Chupitos. The cab ride was pretty expensive compared to our dirt cheap cabs in Valencia, but we eventually got there! Chupitos=shots. This bar was so cool and absolutely
packed full of Americans. There is a huge sign on the wall of about 200 different shots -- you have no idea what in the world any of them are, but it was soooo fun to just pick them and see what crazy thing you had to do to take the shot! Some examples of these shots -- A Boyscout: they pour alcohol down the bar, light the bar on fire, give you a stick with a marshmellow, you roast your marshmellow, dip it in a shot and take the shot; Fourth of July -- They put a sparkler in the shot and you have to wait for the sparkler to end and then take the shot; Harry Potter -- Something involving magic wands and fire ( I didn't take this one); My Listerine Shot (above) -- She put this green stuff in the bowl, lit it on fire, put a glass on it and it sucked up into the glass somehow, she let out the liquid and put her hand over the glass opening and had me suck the air out with a
straw (tasted like listerine) and then I had to take some of the green shot! All in all -- this place was soooo fun, cheap, and made taking weak shots a BLAST! After Chupitos, we took a cab to a discoteca called RAZZMATAZZ! It was 6 stories and was packed to the RIM. Side note: Barcelona is soo different than Valencia....people speak English only, there are American students everywhere, and its completely full of tourists (these were my least favorite things about Barco). Anyways, the discoteca was full of Americans and DISASTERS! My shoe broke immediately when I got there so I was dancing like a complete "rahtard" as my friends would say, Ryan got punched in the eye while searching for Suzerz in the huge place, the band playing was sooo loud that I didn't even know that they were singing in english, you couldn't move being there were so many people so it was SO easy to get lost, we tried to fix my shoe with bubble gum=fail. We eventually decided to go back home and make sure everyone made it home ok! Luckily, everyone was back at the hotel, safe, and pick pocket free!

In front of one of Gaudí's houses in Park Guell


My favorite strange performer in the park


The cutest children alive -- I want to steal all of the spanish children

Where America's Next Top Model was!

One of Gaudí's houses


The next morning we woke up bright and early (and hungover) for a delicious breakfast in our hotel. I was so excited because yet again I GOT COLD MILK!!! Yummmmmmy. We got on our bus to go on a four hour tour around Barcelona -- lets just say we all were struggling big time. It was a really ugly day so my pictures aren't that pretty, but it was still an awesome tour minus the whole group being hungover. Park Guell was my absolute favorite. For those of you dorks out there -- It is the park where America's Next Top Model had one of their final fashion shows. It is full of Antoni Gaudí's architecture, ceramic mosaic walls, caves, fountains,
everything. He is officially my new favorite artist. His work reminded me of something that my sister would love. There were three houses in the park that Gaudí designed (one being his own) and they were the most amazing
houses I have ever seen. Everything looks like something our of a Dr. Suess book or Alice in Wonderland. He made me fall in love with mosaic. One time in middle school I made a huge mosaic table with my art teacher and this encouraged me to keep doing things like that -- its soo beautiful. There were also a lot of performers in the park trying to make some extra cash, but my personal fav was this black man from London. He had six adorable puppies and this long horn that made the most interesting sounds. If you
ever get a chance to go to Barcelona, I 100% would suggest going to this park. It was everyone's favorite place in Barco. The other place would have to be to see La Segrada Familia which is a HUGE cathedral that
Gaudí started building and never got to finish because he
passed away before it was done. It pretty much looks like an incredible
"drip sand castle" you would make on the beach. It was the most incredible architecture I have seen in my life...


After the group tour finished up, a couple of us (me, Suz, Tay, Grace, and Britt) went on our 4 hour search for the Museo de Picasso. It took us absolutely forever to find, but we got to see SO much of Barcelona on the
way. Barcelona is one of those places that has about a millions th
ings to do and we had 1.5 days to do it. But I would like to give us chicas credit because we got to do/see a TON of it. It tooks us soo long to get to the Picasso museum because we kept getting so distracted by Calle Las Ramblas. There were farm animals for sale everywhere (soo weird...even roosters? Why the hell would yo
u need a rooster in Barcelona...this I cannot answer), art, flowers, markets, street performers, etc. This was the street we were staying on but didn't really get to explore it until then. I kept thinking we were entering a different "land" because one block would be full of the performers, the next animals, the next food, the next flowers, the next art, the next souvenirs, etc. It was so entertaining/distracting and we knew we had to pick up the pace to make it to the museum. Along the way, we got to see the bridge built for the 1992 Olympics in Barcelona. I of course loved that because of
my Olympics obsession (ps..Men's hockey won the night before and I was sooo excited).

After searching forever, we finally got there. I loveeeeeed this museum and was in such a zone. This was the best museum I have been in within Europe so far. It explained Picasso's entire learning process up to his style he created -- cubism. It was so cool to get to stand in front of something as simple as a sketch and know that Picasso was sitting in front of it doing it himself. It made me think of how I always sit around (back in the states) and watch Alex sketch in her sketch book, work on projects etc -- this stuff could be in a freaking museum one day. You wouldn't think that such a famous artist started off exactly the same way -- starting off with the basics and eventually created a completely new perspective and style. Needless to say, I thought this museum was incredible. Afterwards, we went out to eat at this restaurant called UDON which was a good change. I was dying laughing because I thought there slogan was hilarious for some reason..."NOODLES AND FUN!!!". Tehe.

Taylor Chico, me, Molly, Brendan, and Eric at OPIUM

Mols and I at Opium!

Suz and I were EXHAUSTED after this long adventure and fell asleep for three hours in our hotel. I wasn't even planning on napping, but after walking miles and getting into my cozy bed to watch the Olympics, I couldn't resist the weight of my eyelids. Luckily, I woke up to my room phone ringing with Caroline screaming, "You're STILL sleeping?? Get up!! We're going out!" So, Suz and I sluggishly got out of bed, showered and got ready for the incredible night ahead of us. Molly's friend who are studying in Barcelona took us out on Saturday night. We went to an underground discoteca called OPIUM in Olympic Park by the beach. Me, Molly, Taylor (chico), and her two friends decided to get a "VIP Table" at the club because it costs about the same amount as the cover charge and we got free alcohol, fruit, drinks, table, etc! This was probably the best money I have spent in Spain so far. They took us down to the VIP section and we were treated like celebrities. They brought us Absolut, a huge fruit platter, Red Bull, Cokes, etc. We were in this section that overlooked the entire club and it was sooooooo fun. It had such a young and fun crowd. I had a BLAST with everyone (especially when Suz and Grace met up with us!) We just danced all night and went home around 6 in the morning...

Sunday was the day from hell. I felt terrible from the discoteca and was dreading the miserable 6 hour drive back to Valencia. Luckily, Ryan is the sweetest person alive and let me sleep in his lap the entire way to Valencia. At one point, I felt so terrible that I laid on the floor in between the seats. Haha! We eventually returned to our amazingggg home and I went straight to sleep for a couple of hours.

Barcelona was obviously INCREDIBLE. Its definitely not a place that you would ever want to move to but a great place to visit for about a week! Its a good place for people who don't speak Spanish! It really offended us that they wouldn't speak Spanish to us, but would be awesome for people who don't know the language!