skip to main |
skip to sidebar
El Mercado Central
El Mercado Central



After class yesterday, Taylor and I decided to go to El Mercado Central (Central Market). Its one of the largest in Europe and right down the street from our dorm. My family would be in heaven in this market. I had gone plenty of times right before siesta when everything was closing down, so I was excited that we finally made it while everything was still open! There is literally everything you can think of and also things you have never heard of. Tay and I just wandered around and looked at all of the delicious fruit and cheeses and also the disgusting raw meats everywhere. It was fun to compare prices at the 10,000,000 stands. We ended up buying red apples (manzanas rojas), Granny Smith apples (which I was SO excited to find), nectarines (which unfortunately I chose one that was not ripe at all), and balsamic vinegar (aceto balsamico). There were so many fruits and vegetables we had never heard of so we took pictures of them and looked them up when we got home. There were also stands filled with all different kinds of nuts and dried fruit -- everything looked delicious....until you got to the meat stands. We saw WHOLE skinned rabbits, pig heads, cow tongues, cow stomach, rabbit brains, etc. It was so freaking disgusting. Anyways, it was cool experience and I think my mom would have a field day in there. My plan is to get to know the ladies at the stands so they throw in some extra apples for me :) I eat so many apples here that I am going to turn into a gigantic manzana roja. tehe.

Last night I watched The Lovely Bones and it was pretty good. I read the book twice and loved it. I think they did a really great job with the movie, which I didn't think was possible. The problem was the freaking horrible actors. I can't stand Mark Walberg in movies, so he kind of ruined it, but the main girl did a really good job. It was creepy like the book but a great movie!
I also decided last night that I think I am going to jump on the Prague band wagon with Tay, Molly, Hope, and Dave. I have always wanted to go there and am going to try and make that happen. I planned a lot for Germany, Prague, Barcelona, London, and Italy last night...I was like a friggin travel agent. We are becoming professionals on this travel planning crapola...
Today I just went to class and ate lunch. Tay and I are going on a walk around the city and getting stamps (estampillas). I'm catching up on homework and emails tonight. Then..Molly, Greg, and I are going to watch the new episode of LOST on my laptop!
I am starting this new thing where I actually keep up with blogging and not have to write about ten days of my life in one day....we'll see how that goes ;) hasta luego....
Definitely jump on the prague bandwagon kp! seriously from reading your bloggy you guys would all have so so much fun. its the dance capital of europe and eastern europe has such a different but awesome feel! the people there are really nice and love americans, so no stupid madridian-like spaniards ha! you can go to the 5 story club (thats the biggest discoteca/club in ALL of europe) and then hot peppers after (strip club with the hottest girls iv ever seen, no cover!). from reading everything i can just tell you are having the most amazing experience of your life! MAKE THE MOST OF EVERY MINUTE! stop watching glee (ha!) cause you could do that here, take every second over there to explore. if your absolutely drained, take time to nap, but if you have even a smidgen of energy, go out and do something new! even if its just strolling by yourself, you will be so glad you took advantage of every second. NO REGRETS :)
ReplyDeleteI LOVE AND MISS YOU!
Yummy post!
ReplyDelete